Skip to content

Updates

February 16, 2010

I haven’t posted anything in a while- in part due to a ton of work (oh, to be a college student!), and in part thanks to a number of projects that I’ve been working on.  Among them:

-A Run Estimator test from 1954-2009, which will include the popular estimators and a few more “obscure” estimators.  There’s really nothing groundbreaking here, but there were a few pleasant surprises.  A lot of the sites I frequent have done something along these lines; I figure I might as well do it too.

-A sabermetrics wiki.  To be honest, I’m not particularly sure if or when it will be made public- I’d like to have at least a few pages up before putting it out there for anyone to see.

-A look at some of the top collegiate performances from 2009.  Using linear weights for hitters and baseruns for pitchers, of course.  I was on a nice roll until I realized that there was a bug; I’ve been slow to fix it and get everything moving again.  Spoiler alert: Stephen Strasburg was really, really good last year.  I bet nobody saw that coming.

-A total value system.  I love FanGraphs’ WAR as much as the next guy, but I like to do things my own way and I believe a total value metric should be a bit more comprehensive than what we’re currently using.  I intend on making it into a series along the lines of JinAZ’s work a few years back.

Also, I want to mention that I’ll be going to Arizona for Spring Training for about a week, and if I remember right, will be following the Giants exclusively.  That being said, I’ll be posting plenty of pictures and some scouting reports as they come along.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

