Skip to content

Spring Training Invites, 2010

January 22, 2010

The Giants have invited the following players to Spring Training this year, courtesy of Henry Schulman:

Here is the entire list of invitees: Right-handed pitchers Denny Bautista, Santiago Casilla, Rafael Cova, Steven Edlefsen, Eric Hacker, Osiris Matos, Tony Pena Jr., Felix Romero, Dan Turpen and Craig Whitaker; left-handed pitchers Craig Clark and Clayton Tanner; catchers Steve Holm, Johnny Monell, Hector Sanchez and Jackson Williams; infielders Ehire Adrianza, Brandon Crawford, Nick Noonan; outfielders endell Fairley, Roger Kieschnick and Thomas Neal.

A pretty nice crop of players to invite to camp, and I’m looking forward to seeing them in action.  It’s nice to see the Giants giving Hector Sanchez a look- the 21-year old catcher had a .387 wOBA in Rookie League last year and nearly as many walks as strikeouts.  I’m not as educated on Giants prospects as I used to be, but I recall hearing great things about Sanchez.  I’m a tad bit surprised to see Adrianza coming up here; chances are he (and Sanchez, I suppose) won’t be in camp for very long.  I’ve been wanting to see him for a while now, so I’m looking forward to watching this Vizquel-lite youngster in the field.  Wendell Fairley is also a surprise, and I don’t expect him to stick around very long either.  He’s quite the intriguing prospect, and hopefully he can put it together in San Jose this year.

The guys I’m most excited to watch are Thomas Neal and Brandon Crawford.  I got the opportunity to watch Crawford last year in the Spring and was extremely impressed with his glove- there’s little doubt in my mind that he can be an impact fielder in the Major Leagues.  The instincts are good, the footwork is smooth and that arm of his is outstanding.  Neal had a real breakout year in 2009 (.444 wOBA and 49 RAA), and he sounds quite promising.  It’ll be nice to see him with my own two eyes for once.

I’ve been swamped with work lately, and I’ve got a number of projects that I’m working on right now.  Hopefully I’ll find some time to finish them up and post some interesting stuff soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

