Skip to content

Thoughts on the Freddy Sanchez Trade

July 31, 2009
by

When I heard that the Giants acquired Freddy Sanchez, I was excited. Then when I read that the Giants traded SP Tim Alderson, I panicked. Then I got pissed. Then I became slightly sad. Then I thought “this is the Sabean we know and hate.” Then I calmed down a bit, and thought about it reasonably. I’m going to break down Freddy Sanchez’s value, Tim Alderson’s value, and some recent scouting on Alderson.

To start with Sanchez, he has about $2.25 million left on his contract for 2009, plus an $8 million option that will most likely be exercised. For measuring his performance, I’m going to be extremely conservative and undervalue what I’ll think he’ll do. I’ll say 1 WAR for the rest of 2009, and 3 WAR for 2010. I could easily see a 1.75 and 3.5-4 WAR instead, depending on if he’s healthy and has no steep decline. Using the former, he’ll be worth a net value of about $13 million, and could range anywhere from about $10 to $20 million.

For Tim Alderson, using THT’s prospect value system, Alderson would be worth about $16 million. However, in a chat with Keith Law, he mentioned that “he’d be back end of a top 100 at best” now, as well as mentioning that “one scout I talked to who saw him in July said he wrote him up as a 5th starter.” If his value really is that of the bottom of the top 100, then his value is anywhere from $7 to $10 million.

With the failure rate of pitching prospects, and hearing that Alderson’s best case scenario right now is a #5 SP, I’ll gladly take the trade for a end of the rotation prospect for a top 10 2B in all of baseball, especially considering that the Giants have arguably the worst 2B production in baseball. Another thing to consider is the possibility of Sanchez being a Type A or Type B Free Agent. If the Giants were to get even Type B compensation, chalk up Sanchez’s value up for another few million, and with the way the Giants have been drafting of late, I’m very comfortable with that scenario.

Good work, Sabes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

