Skip to content

Linear Weights VORP

March 3, 2009

I find it amusing that this post is about an advanced statistical metric, after my last post on the role of statistical analysis in the game. Oh well. I’ve written about VORP before on this site, and about how the best methodology to fix the metric was by using straight linear weights. So, I’ve done just that.

The only thing it’s missing are park adjustments- aside from that, it’s correct. The weights were derived from BaseRuns via the “plus-one” method, and I’ve adjusted for both league and position difficulty.  I intend on introducing a “total value” system eventually, and I’ll talk more about the methodology then. But here’s the basic framework for it. It’s essentially RAR (Runs Above Replacement) plus a positional adjustment.

LWTS VORP 2008

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

