Skip to content

My Introduction – And A Review of the 2008 Giants

January 26, 2009
by

As the other “founding member” of TriplesAlley, I felt the need to introduce myself as well. I’m another baseball nut, as you can probably imagine, and I currently am a varsity baseball player at my High School. It was only about a year ago, when I first met JT (on a sports forum), when I first began to indulge myself into the world of sabermetrics. Although I still hold true to the values that I was brought up with – watching every game, believing in every game, believing my Giants could win the World Series every year, and other far-fetched fantasies – I think statistically and analytically now more than I ever imagined. That’s enough about me though, since nobody really cares.

So I figured I’d start off with something not so original, but it may please the Giant saberheads out there: A 2008 recap of the Giants season.

The content I’m about to post is simply copied from when I did it on another site a few months ago.

What is WAR? It stands for Wins Above Replacement, and is the best statistic we have available to judge a player’s overall worth, whether he be hitter or pitcher. It is adjusted based on playing time, since obviously the more you play the more you can contribute (whether it’s positive or negative). It is also adjusted based on the league (the AL is better), and the position the player plays. Again, a WAR of 0 is basically what you expect to pick up for league minimum, as a replacement player. I won’t go much more into it than that.

For more about that, and a fun and challenging read, go here: http://www.insidethebook.com/ee/inde…calculate_war/

None of this work is original, and all credit goes to Tom Tango for introducing us to it, and for that we are extremely thankful.

I won’t go into too much detail about how I calculated the players, rather than using tRA, UZR, wOBA and I did not factor in baserunning.

Position Players

Randy Winn: 4.22
Bengie Molina: 2.91
Fred Lewis: 1.93
Ray Durham: 1.67
Aaron Rowand: 1.29
Pablo Sandoval: .95
Rich Aurilia: .77
Nate Schierholtz: .51
Emmanuel Burriss: .44
Steve Holm: .37
Travis Ishikawa: .30
Jose Castillo: .21
Scott McClain: .2
Travis Denker: .17
Brian Horwitz: .09
John Bowker: -.04
Eugenio Velez: -.05
Eliezer Alfonzo: -.19
Dave Roberts: -.23
Dan Ortmeier: -.24
Rajai Davis: -.33
Ryan Rohlinger: -.48
Brian Bocock: -.74
Ivan Ochoa: -.8
Omar Vizquel: -1.12

Total Offensive WAR: 12.62

The average NL team should get 16.625 Wins Above Replacement from their offense. As you can see, we’re a bit behind. Adding Renteria and losing Omar should help a bit. But more on that another time.

Pitchers

Tim Lincecum: 8.49
Matt Cain: 3.53
Jonathan Sanchez: 2.95
Barry Zito: .77
Kevin Correia: -.0545
Matt Palmer: -.29

Brian Wilson: .79
Sergio Romo: .18*
Jack Taschner: .084
Tyler Walker: .08
Keichii Yabu: .04
Merkin Valdez: -.03
Geno Espineli: -.0901
Erick Threets: -.117
Alex Hinshaw: -.13
Osiris Matos: -.17
Vinnie Chulk: -.17
Billy Sadler: -.37
Brad Hennessey: -.42
Pat Misch: -1.04

Starting Pitching WAR: 15.4

Bullpen WAR: -1.3631

Now, combining our overall WAR, both offense and pitching we get a total of:
26.65 Wins Above Replacement.

Since a replacement team wins 47.4 wins, we should have gone 74-88 (47.4+26.65) in 2008. We of course went 72-90, so we were pretty close.

These numbers aren’t exact, as my calculations at the time were proabably a bit lacking, so I may have been off by a win or two. As my first post, I wanted to get something out there, so enjoy. Soon enough I’ll post our projected numbers along with that of the Dodgers and D-Backs, to compare.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

